Latin American Fellowship Committee

Committee Members: S. T. Álvarez-Castañeda (Chair), J. L. Dunnum, K. A. Ernest, T. E. Lacher, Jr., M. A. O'Connell, M. Ortega, J. Salazar-Bravo, S. Solari.

Mission:

The *Latin American Student Field Research Award* is given annually to support field research projects by Latin Americans in Latin America. Eligible students must be citizens of Latin American countries (excluding Puerto Rico) and currently enrolled in a graduate program in any university of the Americas. Projects must be field-oriented investigations in natural history, conservation, ecology, systematics, wildlife biology, biogeography, or behavior. The selection committee, whose membership reflects these diverse fields and has field experience in Latin America, considers each of these areas of research equally important. Several \$1,500 awards are typically granted each year.

The *Oliver P. Pearson Award* supports a young professional who holds an academic position in a Latin American institution within 5 years of receiving a Ph.D. or equivalent degree. A single \$5,000 award is granted each year. In addition, up to \$2,000 is offered for the recipient to attend the ASM Annual Meeting the year following the award.

Information Items:

- (1) In 2015, we reviewed four applications for the Oliver Pearson Award, and selected **Mariana** Freitas Nery (Brazil), Professor at Universidade Estadual de Campinas (Brazil).
- (2) In 2015, we received 22 applications for the Student Field Research Awards. Each Committee Member reviewed and ranked all applications. We awarded 5 grants (according to the budget approved) to the applications with the highest average ranks:
- **Esteban Brenes-Mora** (Costa Rica) Factors affecting habitat use of Baird's Tapir in a roadfragmented landscape in the highlands of Cordillera de Talamanca. Universidad Nacional de Costa Rica.
- **Cintya A. Segura-Trujillo** (México): *Taxonomic and functional analysis of the segregation of trophic guild in insectivorous bats in the Mexican Neotropical region*. Centro de Investigaciones Biológicas del Noroeste.
- **María Sol Gennuso** (Argentina): *Behavioral and physiological trajectories in juvenile black and gold howler monkeys* (*Alouatta caraya*). National University of Northeastern.
- **Silvina Beatriz Bongiovanni** (Argentina): *Context dependent effects of Ctenomys mendocinus on vegetation*. Universidad de San Juan.
- **José Fernando Moreira Ramírez** (Guatemala): *Home range and habitat selection of an endangered social species: the white-lipped peccary in the Maya Forest*. El Colegio de la Frontera Sur.
- (3) Last year's budget request for 5 Latin American Student Field Research Awards was approved by the ASM Board, so we anticipate 5 awards this year.

- (4) We have received 16 applications for the 2015 Latin American Student Field Research Award and 1 applications for the Oliver Pearson Award. Committee Members are in the process of reviewing applications, and recipients will be announced at the 2015 Annual Banquet in Jacksonville, Florida.
- (5) Committee Membership: Former member Monica Diaz, has stepped off the Committee. We thank her for her service. Jonathan L. Dunnum was added as a new member.
- **(6)** The Oliver Pearson Awardee of 2014, Dr. Hugo Mantilla-Meluk, who was going to present his work at the 2015 ASM Annual Meeting in Florida did not attend, so we saved the \$2,000 for travel from the 2015 budget.

Action Items:

(1) 2016 budget request

Latin American Student Field Research awards 5 x \$1500	\$ 7,500
Oliver P. Pearson Award (1) award \$5000 + travel \$2000	\$ 7,000
Total Request	\$14,500

(3) We changed to an online application process for both Pearson and student field grant awards. We also moved the deadline from 15 April to 1 March. We have had some problems with this change because the deadline has been 15 April since 1999, so many proposals did not arrive on time. For that reason, we are accepting applications until 15 April in 2016. In 2017, we will have 1 March as the deadline and all applications will be online.

Respectfully submitted,

S. T. Álvarez-Castañeda, Chair (sticul@cibnor.mx)